Loading Events

Past Events

Events Search and Views Navigation

Event Views Navigation

December 2019

Is sociocracy teal?

December 4, 2019 at 12:30 - 13:30 EST
SoFA zoom
Is Sociocracy teal? presentation & discussion with Ted Rau

Where does sociocracy fit when it comes to teal organizations (a la reinventing organizations)? Many of us have been and continue to be inspired by Reinventing Organizations by Frederic Laloux. While there is reference to Holacracy in Reinventing Organizations, there is not much direct reference to sociocracy. So, where does sociocracy fit in? Sociocracy is certainly a self-management system of peer relationships, giving people (both teams and individuals) autonomy in their domains, leading to a system of intentionally distributed power…

Find out more »

January 2020

Facilitation class (3 sessions)

January 15 at 13:00 - 15:00 EST
$100 – $150

Jan 15, Jan  22, Jan 29, 2020, Wednesdays, each 1pm Eastern/18 UTC/19:00 Central Europe. This is a 3-session introduction class to facilitation and decision making in sociocracy. It covers basic concepts with many examples. All sessions are participatory with time for questions and answers. The classes will be taught by Ted Rau, co-founder and staff member of Sociocracy For All. Session 1: Preparing agendas that work; rounds Session 2: Clear decisions and addressing objections Session 3: What if we have…

Find out more »

Sociocratic governance agreements

January 27 at 12:00 - 14:00 EST
SoFA zoom
$20

Every formal implementation requires a governance agreement document - a description of the governance method in their context. Oftentimes, it's the approval of this document that constitutes the formal adoption of sociocracy. We have several sample governance agreements that groups can take and adopt. In this workshop, we will walk you through the sample governance agreement for a cohousing community (which, for the most part, will apply to many other contexts as well). You can ask questions along the way! We…

Find out more »

Organizational structure (3 sessions)

January 28 at 10:00 - 12:00 EST
$100 – $150
Go to webinar — Decentralized teams

Jan 28, Feb 4, Feb 11 Tuesdays, each 10am Eastern Time/15:00 UTC/16:00 Central Europe. (See time of first session in your time zone) This is a 3-session introduction class to circle structure in sociocracy. It covers basic concepts with many examples. All sessions are participatory with time for questions and answers. The classes will be taught by Jerry Koch-Gonzalez, co-founder and staff member of Sociocracy For All with ample experience with a variety of organizations. Session 1: Basic circle structure…

Find out more »

February 2020

Operations and policy in sociocracy

February 6 at 16:00 - 17:30 UTC+0
SoFA zoom
$10

Understanding the difference between operations and policy is key to making fast and good decisions. The idea in sociocracy is to empower operational decisions (so they can be made by anyone who is authorized) and to make policy decisions to guide and improve those operational decisions. However, the line between operations and policy can blur which makes it harder to make pragmatic decisions. Policy decisions are made by consent while operational decisions are often made alone - and with feedback

Find out more »

Decisions by consent – free for climate activists

February 6 at 23:00 - February 7 at 00:30 UTC+0
SoFA zoom
Free – $10

Let's boost the climate movements worldwide by boosting the decision-making process! In this free class, you will learn how to make decisions together in a smooth, inclusive and constructive way. Event time Option A: Feb 6, 23 UTC (See event in your time zone) for 1.5 hours Alaska: Feb 6, 2pm San Francisco: Feb 6, 3pm Denver: Feb 6, 4pm Houston: Feb 6, 5pm New York: Feb 6, 6pm Såo Paolo: Feb 6, 20:00 Hong Kong: Feb 7, 7:00 (morning)…

Find out more »

Decisions by consent – free for climate activists

February 7 at 12:00 - 13:00 UTC+0
SoFA zoom
Free – $10

Let's boost the climate movements worldwide by boosting the decision-making process! In this free class, you will learn how to make decisions together in a smooth, inclusive and constructive way. Event time Option B: Feb 7, 11 UTC (See event in your time zone) for 1.5 hours Buenos Aires: Feb 7, 9:00 am London: Feb 7, 12:00 Copenhagen: Feb 7, 13:00 Cape Town: Feb 7: 14:00 Moscow: Feb 7, 15:00 India: Feb 7, 17.30 Bangkok: Feb 7 19:00 Hong Kong:…

Find out more »

Nonviolent communication introduction (3 sessions)

February 10 at 13:00 - February 24 at 15:00 EST
SoFA zoom
$100

Feb 10, Feb 17, Feb 24, 2020, Mondays, each 1pm Eastern/18:00 UTC/19:00 Central European (see time of first session in all time zones). This is a 3-session introduction class to compassionate communication (Nonviolent Communication, NVC). It covers basic concepts with many examples. All sessions are participatory with time for questions and answers. The classes will be taught by Jerry Koch-Gonzalez, co-founder and staff member of Sociocracy For All, a certified NVC trainer. Session 1: Connecting with yourself, connecting with others…

Find out more »

Sociocracy: circle roles

February 12 at 14:00 - 15:30 UTC+0
SoFA zoom
$10

This 1-hour class is giving an overview of the different circle roles (leader, delegate, secretary and facilitator), their typical tasks, and good practices. This class is intended for people who are starting to work sociocratically and would appreciate some clarification of the roles. There will be time for questions! Taught by Ted Rau

Find out more »

Sociocracy and conflict resolution (3 hours)

February 19 at 11:00 - 14:00 EST
SoFA zoom
$25

Ideally, sociocracy prevents conflict - but what if that didn't work? Let's look at how sociocracy and conflict resolution can integrate for more connected, harmonious and authentic organizations.

Find out more »
+ Export Events